Using unix terminal sudo chown and chgrp

Mac OS X Command Line


Using unix terminal ‘sudo [chown] and [chgrp]’


With a recent upgrade to Mac OS X 10.6 I was reminded of a problem that might happen if you migrate files from a previous system or if you have a second hard drive forcing you to correct OS X operating system by running with sudo [chown] and [chgrp] using Terminal. I have experienced this issue before when installing Mac OS X versions 10.0, 10.1, 10.2, 10.3 10.4 and 10.5. Mine was related to my second hard drive that I use for backing up video and image files. After the update I wanted to sort some Desktop items on my primary drive to the second drive (Macintosh HD2). A dialog appeared asking me to Authenticate. Once you Authenticate you will have to keep doing this for every item you move to this drive. This is a common issue and occurs even through your primary user (you) might still have the same short name, password or user level assigned. There are two things you can do to repair this.

Ignore Ownership
Using unix terminal sudo chown and chgrp
If your second drive requires you to Authenticate and you are the primary user of the drive you can have the drive ignore the ownership the the volume. Simply:

  1. 1. Select the drive.
  2. 2. Type Apple+I or go the the Finder menu and Select > Get Info.
  3. 3. At the bottom of the Info Inspector you will see a and check the check box for “Ignore ownership on this volume”.



Change Ownership with Command Line
If this doesn’t solve your issue you can also reassign permissions via command line. This works the best if you are the primary user of you Mac. To change Permission with Terminal you will have to Launch Terminal from the Applications > Utilities Folder. Next you will issue the following commands:

1. To change Owner

[ComputerName]:~ [username]$ sudo chown -R [username] /Volumes/[Hard Drive Name or Folder Path]

You will get the following response:

WARNING: Improper use of the sudo command could lead to data loss
or the deletion of important system files. Please double-check your
typing when using sudo. Type “man sudo” for more information.

To proceed, enter your password, or type Ctrl-C to abort.

Enter your Password to Authenticate

2. To change Group

[ComputerName]:~ [username]$ sudo chgrp -R admin /Volumes/[Hard Drive Name or Folder Path]

You might be prompted for you password again but since you are doing this in the same session it might just approve and return you to your [ComputerName] and [username]. That’s it! Test it by dragging a file to the drive. If you have done this to a folder on your primary drive you might want to Repair Permissions using Applications > Utilities > Disk Utility. Click on Repair Permissions.


Capture, Edit and Share With QuickTime X

Capture, Edit and Share With QuickTime X


Capture, Edit and Share With QuickTime X


When it comes to editing video there are a lot of different options. Within Apple’s line of software products you can choose from iLife’s iMovie, Final Cut Express or Final Cut Pro. But what happens if you are on the go or need to quickly edit a video and you don’t have these software options. Completely redesigned for Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard, QuickTime X is a brand-new version of QuickTime Player. With QuickTime X you no longer have to buy the QuickTime Pro to be able to edit and convert videos. This can now be done free using QuickTime X. Although the editing is limited sometimes you don’t need more. Here are some some editing tips covering most of your editing needs,

Capture
You can now capture video with QuickTime X. You don’t need any other application to capture video from the iSight camera, a FireWire camera, your desktop or an audio input. There are three new options to get you started.

  1. 1. Plug in your device, or if you are using the iSight Camera just hold tight.
  2. 2. Choose File > New (Movie, Audio or Screen) Recording.
  3. 3. A window will appear with a record button. When you are ready just click Record.
  4. 4. When you have completed your capture you can edit it.


Editing
Using QuickTime X you can easily shorten or remove unwanted content or remove a portion of the beginning or end of a video clip. Shorting a video is called trimming.

Editing with QuickTime X

  1. 1. Launch QuickTime. (Applications > QuickTime X)
  2. 2. Open the clip you want to edit.
  3. 3. Choose Edit > Trim. A trimming bar appears at the bottom of your QuickTime window.
  4. 4. Use the Trim bar to select the portion of the movie you want to keep.
  5. 5. Drag the start and end (yellow handles) of the trimming bar to select the portion of the movie you want to keep.
  6. 6. Click the Trim Button. Your movie will be shortened to the portion you selected.

Note: If the start and end portions of your video don’t have sound you can, Choose Edit > Select All Excluding Silence to set the trim points to exclude the silent part of your video. One drawback, you can’t import or edit two clips into one sequence. This is meant only to edit one sequence at a time.



Share
Now that you shot and edited you video its time to share it. You can upload videos to iTunes, MobileMe or YouTube. You will need either a Apple, MobileMe or YouTube Account to post your videos. To upload videos from QuickTime X to YouTube, open a video with QuickTime X and press Share on the menu bar. The same menu will enable you to upload movies to MobileMe and convert movies so you can send them to iTunes. All the compression and encoding is already preset.


Apple Remote Desktop 3 Not Launching in Mac OS X 10.6

Apple Remote Desktop 3 Not Launching in Mac OS X 10.6


Apple Remote Desktop 3.3 v1.1 Not Launching in Mac OS X 10.6


Ran into some trouble recently after upgrading to Mac OS X 10.6. I did a clean install of Mac OS X 10.6 and upgraded to Mac OS X 10.6.2. After migrating my files over using the Migration Assistant. The Migration Assistant can be found in your Applications > Utilities folder. It is the easiest way to transfer files from a user account from a previous system. Simply launch and follow the prompts. Once migrating the files over everything should be restored to the way it was in your previous system, without having to do it manually. Most of the time this works but sometime there are Applications that cause trouble, for me it was Remote Desktop.

After migrating I found that all my Applications are launching normally, all except for Remote Desktop. I tried launching Remote Desktop and it wouldn’t finish launching. Essentially Remote Desktop would start loading and appear in the dock and the menu bar would appear but would beach ball and would not continue to load. Once loaded the application asks for your user name and password but this was not the case with the current version.

After some research I found the ARD requires an upgrade to Remote Desktop 3.3 v1.1 to work with Mac OS 10.6. Even after updating ARD did not finish loading. After further research and troubleshoot I came up with the following solution:

Remove the Administration Software
To remove the administrator software:

  1. 1. Drag the Remote Desktop application to the Trash.
  2. 2. Empty the Trash.
  3. 3. Delete the ARD database from /var/db/RemoteManagement/ by executing these commands in Terminal:
  4. $ sudo rm -rf /var/db/RemoteManagement $ sudo rm /Library/Preferences/com.apple.RemoteDesktop.plist $ rm ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.RemoteDesktop.plist

Double check these paths by going to the Finder menu and select Go > Go To Folder… and enter /var/db/ to check the first location. Do the same with the Library/Preferences. Finish by running the following commands from Terminal:

$ sudo rm -r /Library/Application\ Support/Apple/Remote\ Desktop/ $ rm -r ~/Library/Application\ Support/Remote\ Desktop/





Ready to Reinstall
Reinstall Remote Desktop 3.0 or your latest version. Once complete DO NOT LAUNCH. Next run Software Update from the Apple Menu and Upgraded to Apple Remote Desktop 3.3 v1.1. Restart your Mac. Once restarted launch Disk Utility (Applications/Utilities/Disk Utility). Repair Permissions. Once Complete Launch Remote Desktop and test. You should be up and running!

For more information on compatibility and about Remote Desktop 3.3 visit: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3301

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!

Mac Users Guide Forum

    It Seem There Is Something Wrong With BBLD Configuration, Please Check It.